General ReferenceEnglishScience and HealthWorld LanguagesWorld StudiesMultimedia Sources
Ancient China ResourcesAfrica Research ProjectRenaissance ProjectPersuasive Speech ProjectAncient EgyptMythologyHistory of FoodActivities - Spanish 1TheaterConquistadorsEspanol - Los PaisesNewspaper ProjectLegendsMedieval MuseumMusic Interpretation Project
This is the "Online Resources" page of the "Tilden Library Media Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tilden Library Media Center  

Last Updated: Oct 25, 2017 URL: http://tildenms.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=509043 Print Guide RSS Updates

Online Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources & Descriptions

 For home access, usernames and passwords will be posted in your MyMCPS Classrooms

or pick up a paper copy in the Media Center

 Resource and website URL

Description

ABC-CLIO World Geography

http://worldgeography.abc-clio.com/

World Geography provides authoritative content and online tools that develop students’ global literacy, focusing on the geographic, political, social, economic, and cultural forces of our globalized world.

Ancient and Medieval History Online

http://www.2facts.com

Ancient and Medieval History Online provides thorough coverage of nine civilizations—ancient Egypt, ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Greece, ancient Rome, ancient and medieval Africa, medieval Europe, the Americas, ancient and medieval Asia, and Islamic Empire—from prehistory to the 1500s.

Brain Pop

https://www.brainpop.com/

BrainPOP creates animated, curricular content that engages students.

Britannica School

http://school.eb.com

3 encyclopedias in one: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Compton’s by Britannica and Britannica Elementary.   A search will return articles from all 3 encyclopedias so students can choose which level meets their needs. Students can choose in which level to begin their search, but can also search across all three levels.

 

Britannica ImageQuest

http://quest.eb.com

Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. The images in this product go a long way to supporting curriculum and meeting the needs of students without having to use google images.

Britannica Annals of American History

http://www.america.eb.com

Explore the rich and varied American history through primary sources such as speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images and multimedia.

Britannica Escolar Online

http://escolar.eb.com/

Britannica Escolar Online provides a Spanish elementary encyclopedia, images, videos, and Spanish language learning materials specifically designed for younger learners.  

Britannica Enciclopedia Moderna

http://moderna.eb.com/

Enciclopedia Moderna is the most comprehensive Spanish language encyclopedia available today. It features 145,000 articles plus timelines, an atlas, and a dictionary.

 

Britannica Global Reference Center

http://global.eb.com/

Britannica's Global Reference Center is the home of comprehensive online content in a variety of global languages. These extensive and thorough databases deliver information from around the globe in Japanese, Korean, Chinese, French and Spanish.

 

Britannica World Data Analyst

http://world.eb.com/

Students can create "current comparisons" of countries based on a large list of data points, including "chronological comparisons," which compares changes over time up to 90 years.

 

Capstone e-Books

http://www.mycapstonelibrary.com/login/

Fun non-fiction e-books in Health, Mythology, Science, US History and World Studies content areas.

CultureGrams

http://online.culturegrams.com

Up to date information on 182 countries and cultures.  25 categories are tracked including history, land and climate, religion, personal appearance, gestures, language, government, family, dating and marriage, etc.

Discovery Education

http://www.google.discoveryeducation.com/

High quality, dynamic, digital content.  Includes Boardmaker.

EBSCO Auto Repair Reference Center

http://search.ebscohost.com

Repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis.

EBSCO Business Source Premiere

http://search.ebscohost.com

Industry's most popular business research database, featuring the full text for more than 2,200 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

 

Explora Primary School

http://search.ebscohost.com

Explora Primary School is designed especially for students in grades K-8. This searchable encyclopedia and dictionary site is designed for elementary and middle school students. It includes images, articles and definitions. It also has a teacher resource section.

Explora Secondary  School (EBSCO)

http://search.ebscohost.com

Designed for middle and high school students, this searchable database provides coverage of current events, primary source documents, and film and video from books, encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines and government reports. It has a teacher resource sections as well.

FactCite Databases

http://www.factcite.com

The FactCite databases provide more than 6,000 illustrated articles of people, places and events that shape our society and world around us. Included in FactCite are the following databases: American History, Countries and Cultures, Defining Moments in US History, Shapers of Society, Sports Champions, and World Biography.

Gale Virtual Reference Library http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mcpstms

Reference titles meeting students' curricular needs in English, FACS, Health, Reading, Science, U.S. History, and World Studies.  Every article has read-to capability as well as being translatable into 21 languages.

History Reference Center (EBSCO)

http://search.ebscohost.com

This database includes more than 300 reference books and encyclopedias; 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies; and more than 100,000 images and historical maps.

Kids Info Bits

http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mcpstms

Provides students with an easy-to-use, graphically-appealing interface they can use to search their EBSCO databases.

MackinVIA e-Books

https://www.mackinvia.com/Titles?rpp=18&rt=2

Fiction and non-fiction e-books including classics, core novels and realistic fiction titles.

MasterFILE Premier(EBSCO)

http://search.ebscohost.com

EBSCO MasterFile Premier provides searchable full text for over 1,700 publications dating as far back as 1975. Also included are nearly 500 full text reference books and an Image Collection of over 400,000 photos, maps and flags.

 

NoodleTools

http://www.noodletools.com/

NoodleTools  is an online bibliography (works cited) composer and note taking tool.  The student inputs the information necessary and prints out the bibliography. Students can also take notes online using this product.

ScienceFlix

http://scienceflix.digital.scholastic.com

ScienceFlix combines curriculum- driven leveled content, interactive features, and intuitive navigation into a single, highly engaging mobile and tablet compatible science resource. With its emphasis on the latest STEM thinking and the Next Generation Science Standards, ScienceFlix will transform the way students access science topics, acquire scientific knowledge and build an abiding interest in science, technology, and engineering.

Science Reference Center (EBSCO)

http://search.ebscohost.com

Includes science periodicals, reference books, encyclopedias, essays, biographies, animations, images and videos. Supports all science disciplines.

 

SIRS Decades

http://sks.sirs.com

Delivers thousands of relevant primary and secondary source documents organized around the decades of the 20th century. It gives a direct glimpse into the past, while providing the context needed to understand  modern implications of historical events.

SIRS Discoverer

http://discoverer.prod.sirs.com/discoweb/disco/do/frontpage

SIRS Discoverer includes full-text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, government documents, and websites. This resource is especially useful elementary school researchers and students in middle and high schools who need information at lower reading levels.

 

SIRS Knowledge Source

http://sks.sirs.com

SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) includes SIRS Researcher, a periodical database and SIRS Pro/Con  issues research for middle and high schools.  Also included in SKS  is SIRS Renaissance, current perspectives on the arts and humanities, SIRS Web Select, a student search engine with editorially selected websites and SIRS Government Reporter.

TeachingBooks.net

http://teachingbooks.net/home/

Teaching books is a unique service that provides up close and personal interviews (multimedia abounds!) with some of the most loved and respected children and young adult authors.  Also included are an array of lesson plans and other resources for use by language arts teachers and for students. Great for author studies at all grade levels.

TumbleBooks Library

http://www.tumblebooks.com/library/auto_login.asp?U=mcpsmd&P=books

TumbleBooks are  animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books.

U.S. History in Context

http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mcpstms

A collection of primary and secondary resources to support the study of United States history from middle school through college. Provides a complete overview of U.S. history covering the most-studied events, issues and current information.

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary Unabridged

http://mwu.eb.com/

Throw out that URL for dictionary.com.  This is a real dictionary and without those pesky advertisements and pop-ups.  Keep this one open as a window on your computer whenever you are writing or researching.

 

 

Online Resources by Subject Area

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip