General ReferenceEnglishScience and HealthWorld LanguagesWorld StudiesMultimedia Sources
Ancient China ResourcesAfrica Research ProjectRenaissance ProjectPersuasive Speech ProjectAncient EgyptMythologyHistory of FoodActivities - Spanish 1TheaterConquistadorsEspanol - Los PaisesNewspaper ProjectLegendsMedieval MuseumMusic Interpretation Project
This is the "General Reference" page of the "Tilden Library Media Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tilden Library Media Center  

Last Updated: Oct 25, 2017 URL: http://tildenms.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=509043 Print Guide RSS Updates

General Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Encyclopedia Britannica

Encyclopedia Britannica3 encyclopedias in one: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Compton's by Britannica and Britannica Elementary.  A search will return articles from all 3 encyclopedias so students can choose which level meets their needs. 

 

Britannica Escolar Online provides a Spanish elementary encyclopedia, images, videos, and Spanish language learning materials.  Enciclopedia Moderna is a  comprehensive Spanish language encyclopedia featuring 145,000 articles plus timelines, an atlas and a dictionary.

 

 

 

Gale

33 reference titles meeting students' curricular needs in English, FACS, Health, Reading, Science, U.S. History, and World Studies.  Every article has read-to capability as well as being translatable into 21 languages.


A content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.

 

SIRS databases

This database includes carefully selected full-text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, government documents, and websites.

Includes SIRS Researcher, a periodical database and a link to SIRS Pro/Con which has been very important to issues research for middle and high schools.  Also included in SIRS Knowledge Source is SIRS Renaissance, current perspectives on the arts and humanities, SIRS Web Select, a student search engine with editorially selected websites and SIRS Interactive Citizenship, interactive books on U.S. citizenship.

 

EBSCO Databases

Provides searchable full text for over 1,700 publications dating as far back as 1975.  Also included are nearly 500 full text reference books and an Image collection of over 400,000 photos, maps, and flags.

This searchable encyclopedia and dictionary is designed for middle and elementary school students.  It includes images, articles, and definitions.

 

Proquest

Up to date information on 182 countries and cultures.   25 categories are tracked including history, land and climate, language, government, family, personal appearance, gestures, etc.

 

Access to National Newspapers Core, Proquest Historical Newspapers, and Proquest Research Library

 

Dictionary

Unabridged Dictionary without advertisements or pop-ups.  Use this site instead of dictionary.com!

 

Discovery Education

 

Brainpop

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip