General ReferenceEnglishScience and HealthWorld LanguagesWorld StudiesMultimedia Sources
Ancient China ResourcesAfrica Research ProjectRenaissance ProjectPersuasive Speech ProjectAncient EgyptMythologyHistory of FoodActivities - Spanish 1TheaterConquistadorsEspanol - Los PaisesNewspaper ProjectLegendsMedieval MuseumMusic Interpretation Project
This is the "Science and Health" page of the "Tilden Library Media Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tilden Library Media Center  

Last Updated: Oct 25, 2017 URL: http://tildenms.montgomeryschoolsmd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=509043 Print Guide RSS Updates

Science and Health Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Grzimek's Student Animal Life Resource, 2005

This resource book offers broad, comprehensive coverage of the animal kingdom, ranging from the simple -- sponges and corals -- to the complex -- mammals. Animals are grouped by major classifications: sponges; corals; jellyfishes; segmented worms; crustaceans and mollusks; insects; fishes; amphibians; reptiles; birds; and mammals.

 UXL Encyclopedia of Biomes, 2008

Offers detailed comparative essays on major biomes and their component ecosystems. Includes entries on land biomes and water biomes and covers climate, elevation, soil, water bodies, vegetation, animal life, food web, plant and animal adaptations, endangered species, human effects on the biome and the effects of the environment on humans' culture and economy.

UXL Encyclopedia of Science, 2002

This alphabetically organized set opens up the entire world of science in clear, nontechnical language. Topics profiled are related to the physical, life, and earth sciences, as well as to math, psychology, engineering, technology, and the environment.


 

 

UXL Complete Life Science Resource, 2001

Features alphabetically arranged entries on theories, concepts, and scientific discoveries and developments pertinent to the study of life science in schools today.


 

 

 

Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World, 2002

This provides comprehensive coverage of the foods and recipes from 70 representative countries and culture groups worldwide -- from Algeria to Zimbabwe.

 

 

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, 2003

Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others.

 

 

 

 

Chemical Elements, 2012

Provides in-depth information on 112 known chemical elements, plus coverage of recently discovered elements 113 through 116 and 118.

 

Science Databases

 

General Health

UXL Complete Health Resource, 2001

Covers the causes symptoms, diagnoses, tests, treatments and prognoses of health problems; the main systems of the human body, including the circulatory system, the endocrine system, special senses and much more; and a detailed examination of nutrition, and medical and mental health issues.

 

Health - Drug Unit

Drugs and Controlled Substances: Information for Students, 2003

This single-volume resource provides detailed information on the physiological and psychological effects of addictive drugs and substances, from illegal drugs to commonly abused classes of prescription and over-the-counter drugs. Arranged alphabetically by drug name, each entry follows a standard format, allowing researchers to easily find the information they need and also to facilitate comparison between drugs.

 

Health - Careers

Career Information Center:

  Provides information for job seekers on various career areas. Each profile includes a job summary chart, a job description, and up-to-date salary information.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip